Advertise/Affiliate Other Forum Main Page The World Before You Play

Yu's Wants & Limits

Started by Yu, June 12, 2018, 07:58:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Yu

YU'S WANTS

What are your favorite kinds of plots and relationships to play?

An absolutely killer plot for me is probably one about a tiny group going against insurmountable odds. Characters with a lot of flaws who are out of their comfort zones, or struggling against some inner demons really appeal to me. Dark fantasy and horror feel like the best genres for these sorts of plots but, even out of that genre, any sort of story involving character conflict and development is interesting if well executed! I'm also a big fan of simply exploring a day in the life of a new character, or experimenting stuff I've never tried writing before.

As for relationships? Depending on the character, friends may be more difficult to make than enemies. Romance could mean a one night stand in a single thread or a writing the equivalent of a novel together. It'd probably be best to communicate what you're looking for if you have something specific in mind.

What are your least favorite kinds of plots and relationships to play?

There is very little I'll turn down outright. If I have to say something, I guess the least interesting subject for me to write about is probably a military-focused campaign. Fantasy armies don't seem to get me hooked as easily as a more individual-focused, psychological experience does. So if you're planning a big war epic, I'm probably not the first person to consider writing that with.

Relationships-wise there's nothing I'd be completely opposed to either. To nitpick, it's hard to play really close characters without suitable build-up first. So sometimes it's another challenge to play siblings/family with another player if they're not estranged or distant in some way.

What are your favorite character types to play?