Advertise/Affiliate Other Forum Main Page The World Before You Play

Adelan Lore

Started by TreeFolk, April 23, 2016, 12:01:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TreeFolk

@Tally @Rhi-Rhi

So I was wanting to know if it would be possible to play around with some Adelan lore, and build some of its history? Perhaps even starting a new "Big Plot" for Adela. From what I can tell, the lore and culture of Adela is a bit sparser than, say, Serendipity or Connlaoth... But this is just from what I could find on the wiki or on "The World" Adela link. I'm a folklorist by "real world" trade (it's what I have my master's degree in), so I kind of love developing and working with lore. This would totally be my jam to work on in my free time.

Here's how I started to develop the plot:

I was thinking that Adela, as a warlike people, might have a culture similar to Scandinavia and Old Nordic culture. So "Old Adela" might have been even more warlike than current Adela. I began to picture Old Adela as a time when various warbands worked with different dragons, and a time when the country was torn apart by war between gods, dragons, and men. So, for instance, one warband might work with black and green dragons, and would ride against another warband into battle.

The culture of the society would not have yet settled into the dichotomous gender stereotypes, as it's written in the SotE current culture, where men and women have their predetermined roles. Both men and women alike would have needed to fight for survival, so there were battlemaidens as feared and respected as warlords. Society would have been composed of warlords and chieftains fighting for power, land, women, and fortune. This would also be a time when gods walked among men- though now many people refer to the gods as spirits and not gods, just a matter of perception.

This would also be a time of Heroes and Heroines, though the lore over time reimagined many Heroines as Heroes as the gender roles solidified.