Advertise/Affiliate Other Forum Main Page The World Before You Play

Tales From Retail!!

Started by Rhindeer, April 07, 2015, 10:41:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rhindeer

I figure we should have a topic about this because this is my life and I'm sure plenty of peeps have funny/headdesky/ragey stories to share! 8D

So! I work as a barista at a bookstore cafe! Here is one from tonight!

Lady: *comes up to register with laptop, orders a big meal*
Me: Just so you know, it's 20 minutes 'til close. Would you like me to pack some of your stuff to go in case you don't finish in time?
Lady: *affronted* What? I can't eat it here?!
Me: Oh, no, of course you can eat it here! It's just that we close in 20 minutes so I was offering just in case, so you don't feel rushed! No worries, never mind!
Lady: *blank look*
Me: ...Okay! That'll be [total]! I'll have it up for you in a moment!
Me: *makes food and drink*
Manager: *makes 15 minute closing announcement*
Me: *serves food and drink, goes about closing duties*
Lady: *all settled in at her table with her laptop, barely touched any food*
Manager: *makes 10 minute closing announcement*
Lady: *in the same state!*
Manager: *makes 5 minute closing announcement*
Me:  *goes out to start wiping down tables*
Lady: *exasperated* I didn't know you were closing so soon! If I knew you were closing so soon, I'd go somewhere else! I have a lot of work to get done and I planned on staying here a while! If I knew, I would have gone to like Olive Garden!! *moment of clarity* ...This must be why you offered the to go box.
Me: *DYING INSIDE*
Me: *EXERCISING SO MUCH SELF RESTRAINT*
Me: ...*looks at her half finished food* ...Want a to go box?
Lady: .........No.