Advertise/Affiliate Other Forum Main Page The World Before You Play

Would this work? Character questions.

Started by Anonymous, June 18, 2009, 08:52:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Anonymous

Hey, I'm extremely new to RP, and have been looking for a forum-based game to try out (I did try an lj-based one, but I had difficulty getting into it.) This one looks really good, and I'd like to get into it, but I wanted to run my thoughts by you veterans first to make sure it'd fit in okay. (I know the front page says "anything goes," but I'd rather play a character that didn't have to be shoehorned into things. So I thought I'd check.)

I did check out "The World" and the "Before you Play" sections, and was thinking I'd like to bring in a character from a race I created for my webcomic. It'd be an original character, not one of the comic characters, I'm not really interested in using RP to plug the comic, I just like their set-up. They're essentially elves with animal attributes (here for a visual example.) They tend to value hard work over anything else and would train their physical strength rather than rely on magic. There's two groups, those that have been taken as slaves and those that live free and look down on their counterparts for becoming slaves. There's a lot of other little nitpicky details that I'm sure you all aren't interested in...until there's actually a character anyway.

At any rate, I was looking at Adela, as that seems to suit the needs of a character like this, but I wasn't sure. S/he will be decidedly non-human, and I wasn't sure there was a precedent for things like that in this game (they're practically furries...). S/he would probably try to blend in, but there's only so much you can do. Would a character like this be able to fit in, provided I explained it fully, or should I go for a different type of character?

Thanks for the help! Sorry if this is the wrong forum to post this. (I like parenthasis.)

Lion