Advertise/Affiliate Other Forum Main Page The World Before You Play

New blind guy

Started by appleyard, May 22, 2014, 01:10:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

appleyard

As the title of this thread clearly indicates, I'm new, and I'm blind. As for being new, this goes beyond simply being new to this site, which is also true, but rather, I am a beginner at the whole play by post scene. There are a number of fantastic links here that have been helpful in explaining this to me, to which I am grateful to the powers responsible for their creation. Still, I have little doubt that I will err at some point, in some significant way. That's part of learning after all. The other part is, of course, correction. With regards to which, don't ever hesitate to correct me on some point, I wont get angry, because well... I'm asking for it.

Now, for a little personal information, which while not entirely necessary, might be helpful to know when interacting with me. I've been completely blind most of my life, and had relatively poor vision since birth. Thus, there are some visual concepts that are a bit strange to me, but hopefully they wont become an issue during our interactions. The real important factor is that I am learning how my screen-reader works with this site, and the limitations there of. That means that things that might at first seem obvious, may not be for me, as this site was designed for a graphics interface, and I'm not using one. I shall update here, as I learn more about the site and what my limitations are. One to mention right of the bat, though, is that I cannot perceive character tag images. JAWs, which is the screen-reader I use will not describe them. So, while I can listen to anything described in a character bio, any accompanying image is a complete mystery to me. I know this is a bit long, but I hope that this is somewhat helpful. Again, if anyone has any questions, or concerns, don't hesitate to ask.   

Alegretto